12:00 PM

Foundation Board Welcomes Nine New Directors

The Cal State San Marcos Foundation Board welcomed nine new directors during its first meeting of the academic year on Oct. 27.

“We’re excited to have these new directors helping to guide the Foundation Board as we continue building on our culture of philanthropy at the university,” said Jessica Berger, the vice president of University Advancement and executive director of the CSUSM Foundation. "Considering that the Foundation’s mission is to inspire inclusive and transformational philanthropy in support of student success at CSUSM, these new directors are some of the great champions of the university with an unwavering commitment to our students and our region.”

The California State University San Marcos Foundation Board is composed of community leaders and philanthropists who cultivate and encourage charitable investment in the university, build meaningful regional relationships and encourage a culture of philanthropy.

All gifts to the university are accepted and administered by the California State University San Marcos Foundation, an official 501(c)(3) auxiliary organization of CSUSM.

A closer look at the Foundation Board’s nine new directors:


Jasmin Casas
Jasmin CasasA third-year literature and writing studies major with a minor in political science, Casas serves as a student worker for the San Diego County District Attorney’s office. She also is a member of the CSUSM Student Philanthropy Council and strives to be a connection to donors.


Kristin Crellin
Kristin CrellinCrellin is senior vice president for community and membership development for SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union, the largest credit union in the nation to serve school employees. Crellin has been with SchoolsFirst for more than 32 years and works closely with school districts and community partners. Crellin also serves as the chair of the CSU Foundation Board of Governors.


 Ingo Hentschel
Ingo HentschelA proud father of two recent CSUSM alums, Hentschel is senior vice president and region manager of Cox Communications. He oversees day-to-day operations and employees in San Diego, Orange County, Palos Verdes and Santa Barbara. Hentschel has over 30 years of senior leadership experience in the telecommunications industry and the U.S. military.


Damian McKinney
Damian McKinneyMcKinney has owned and operated a real estate advisory business for 35-plus years, managing transactions valued at more than $6.5 billion. McKinney works closely with family offices as the managing general partner in purchasing properties in industrial, hospitality and multifamily residential markets.


Annie Norviel
Annie NorvielNorviel, who graduated from CSUSM in 2009 with a bachelor’s in business administration, is an audit partner at Moss Adams, one of the top accounting firms in the U.S. She is a certified public accountant and has been providing audit and consulting services to private and public companies. 


Raj Pillai
Dr. Rajnandini PillaiThe executive director of the Center for Leadership Innovation and Mentorship Building (CLIMB) at CSUSM and a professor of management, Pillai has consulted with several service organizations on leadership effectiveness. She has received awards for excellence in teaching and research, including the Harry E. Brakebill Distinguished Professor Award.


Brian Reyes 
Brian ReyesThe senior vice president of higher education at C&W Services, Reyes has more than 25 years of experience as a strategy and commercial development leader. Reyes creates strategic partnerships with institutions to improve student, faculty and donor experience.


Stephen Tsui
Stephen Tsui

Tsui is an associate professor of physics at CSUSM and co-director of the Facilitating Identity, Retention, and Successful Transition to STEM program. Known as FIRST2STEM, the program supports first- and second-year STEM majors who need more preparation before taking a calculus course.


   Alisha Wilkins 
Alisha WilkinsDr. Alisha Wilkins is the owner and founder of Temecula-based Hera Hub, a shared workspace and business accelerator for women-owned businesses. Wilkins was appointed by former Gov. Jerry Brown to the Commission on the Status of Women and Girls from 2014-19. She was reappointed by Gov. Gavin Newsom in 2019.