11:44 AM

CSUSM to Sign Agreements With Five New School Districts

Cal State San Marcos is expanding by five the number of school districts at which students are guaranteed admission if they meet certain criteria.

CSUSM President Ellen Neufeldt will sign a memorandum of understanding (MOU) with five new school districts during the university’s annual meeting with local superintendents. The event will take place on Wednesday, March 1 from 7-9 a.m. at The McMahan House on campus.

The new districts are Bonsall Unified School District, Guajome Schools, Hemet Unified School District, Poway Unified School District and San Dieguito Union High School District. They will be joining The Alliance, CSUSM’s regionally focused initiative intended to create a comprehensive pathway to college access and success.

There are 10 districts already in The Alliance: Carlsbad Unified School District, Escondido Union High School District, Fallbrook Union High School District, Lake Elsinore Unified School District, Murrieta Valley Unified School District, Oceanside Unified School District, San Marcos Unified School District, Temecula Valley Unified School District, Valley Center/Pauma Unified School District and Vista Unified School District.

Neufeldt will sign the five new agreements as well as updated MOUs for the existing districts. She also will speak on the theme of “CSUSM’s Strategic Plan and Our Regional Service Area – Serving and Supporting Students.” 

Under the MOUs, students are guaranteed admission if they reach particular standards, and they’re also supported by a peer mentoring program in their first year at CSUSM and ongoing assistance through graduation.

On March 1, a full breakfast will be served at 7 a.m., followed by the formal program from 7:30-9.