13:11 PM

School of Nursing's Margie Kidd Honored with Zomalt Award

Acknowledging her positive impact on students and the campus community, School of Nursing’s Margie Kidd was honored with the 2010-2011 Ernest and Leslie Zomalt Outstanding Service Award at the sixth annual Faculty and Staff Awards reception. The esteemed award was among the honors presented at the January 20 event by CSUSM President Karen Haynes to eight outstanding staff and faculty members.Alternating each year between a staff member and administrator, the Ernest and Leslie Zomalt Outstanding Service Award recognizes the contributions and demonstrated service of an outstanding campus member.“Margie Kidd’s dedication to the School of Nursing provides students with the opportunity to succeed while helping build the program's positive reputation,” CSUSM President Karen Haynes said to an audience of 150 people at the annual awards reception.Kidd joined CSUSM in 1999 working as the administrative coordinator for the psychology and human development departments in the College of Arts and Sciences. She later transitioned to the School of Nursing to assist in the organization and startup of the university’s baccalaureate nursing program, which she has remained a part of since its inception in 2006.Kidd’s distinguished record of service and dedication to the mission of CSUSM has helped the School of Nursing grow exponentially in just four short years. Today, the School of Nursing is helping meet the healthcare needs in the region through six distinctive nursing degree programs, including a Master of Science in Nursing. Students comment that she is the “backbone” of the program, ensuring they have a “positive and successful experience” with her “selfless service” and her support of student-hosted activities and events.Committed to building and strengthening community partnership that enhance student learning, Kidd assisted in the startup of the School of Nursing’s 16-week residency program in coordination with Palomar Pomerado Health and remains involved in helping students succeed in the program. She is also actively involved in coordinating the clinical placements of the student-nursing cohorts and scheduling CPR classes. “Each of our honorees demonstrates outstanding service to our campus and contributes to the overall success of Cal State San Marcos,” said President Haynes. “They represent, in the best sense, the talents of our entire University campus.”At this year’s event, President Haynes acknowledged the innovative teaching style and leadership of Professor Rajnandini Pillai from the College of Business Administration with the 2010-2011 Harry E. Brakebill Distinguished Professor Award, the highest faculty distinction at Cal State San Marcos. Kathy Martin (Academic Affairs) and Jennifer Williams (Finance and Administrative Services) were honored as Employees of the Year. The President also recognized faculty achievements in four key areas, honoring Biology Professor Bianca Mothé with the President's Outstanding Faculty Award for Scholarship and Creative Activity; Liberal Studies Professor Jocelyn Ahlers with the President's Outstanding Faculty Award for Teaching Innovation & Excellence; College of Education Professor Janet McDaniel with the President's Outstanding Faculty Award for Service Leadership; and, Anthropology Professor Jonathan Marian with the President's Outstanding Faculty Award for Outstanding Lecturer.