San Marcos,
09:30 AM

Awards and Accolades: NSF Funding to Support STEM Majors

By Eric Breier

Cal State San Marcos is one of six California State University campuses that earned National Science Foundation funding to support educational opportunities for math and science students pursuing a K-12 teaching credential.

CSUSM will receive $842,267 from the NSF’s Robert Noyce Teacher Scholarship Program for a project titled “Cultivating STEM Teaching Identity in Noyce Teacher Scholars.”

Rong-Ji Chen, an associate professor in CSUSM’s School of Education, is the principal investigator on the project. He is joined by co-principal investigators Chuck De Leone, professor of physics; Linda Holt, professor of mathematics; and Paul Jasien, professor of chemistry and biochemistry. Other collaborators include MiraCosta College, Palomar College, Escondido Union High School District, San Marcos Unified School District and Vista Unified School District.

Other CSUs that received Noyce awards are Chico State, San Diego State, San Francisco State, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo and Stanislaus State.


Shapiro Named 2018 Fellow

Adam Shapiro, a professor of sociology, was named a 2018 Fellow in the Behavioral and Social Sciences Section of the Gerontological Society of America, the nation's largest interdisciplinary organization devoted to the field of aging.

Shapiro was one of 89 exemplary professionals selected as a GSA fellow, the highest class of membership within the GSA. It is an acknowledgment of outstanding and continuing work in gerontology.

The new fellows will be formally recognized during at the GSA’s 2018 Annual Scientific Meeting in November.


Hamill Appointed WSCUC Commissioner

Sharon Hamill, a professor of psychology and faculty director of the CSU Institute for Palliative Care at CSUSM, is one of seven new commissioners appointed to the WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC). Hamill’s appointment began July 1.

Commissioners serve three-year terms with the possibility of re-election to a second term.


Leadership Award

Neal Hoss, vice president of Finance and Administrative Services, was among nine people honored for their leadership during the North San Diego Business Chamber’s annual Celebration of Business.

The North San Diego Business Chamber Leadership Awards honor individuals who have positively impacted another individual, a business, organization or agency, or their community.


NSCS Gold Star Chapter

CSUSM’s chapter of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars (NSCS) has been recognized as a Gold Star Chapter for the 2017-18 academic year. Fifty-three of the more than 320 NSCS chapters received the designation.

Gold Star Chapters were recognized as leaders in implementing engaging, student-centered events on their campus and in their local community.


Inclusive Excellence Initiative

CSUSM was among 57 colleges and universities selected for the Howard Hughes Medical Institute Inclusive Excellence Initiative, which provides $1 million in grant support over five years for each institution.

The Inclusive Excellence Initiative aims to catalyze schools’ efforts to engage all students in science regardless of background. That includes underrepresented ethnic minorities, first-generation college students and working adults with families.


Commendation for Women’s Volleyball

The women’s volleyball team, which became the University’s first program in the NCAA Division II era to travel abroad when it played three matches in Italy last month, will be given a commendation at the San Marcos City Council meeting on Aug. 14.


Top Honor for Sigma Alpha Epsilon

CSUSM’s chapter of Sigma Alpha Epsilon received the John O. Moseley Zeal Award, which recognizes the chapter that best exemplifies a model chapter in the fraternity.

Media Contact

Eric Breier, Public Affairs Specialist | Office: 760-750-7314