San Marcos,
19
September
2018
|
08:54 PM
America/Los_Angeles

Hispanic Heritage Month

By Andrew Reed

In celebration of Hispanic Heritage Month, the Latin@ Center is partnering with campus organizations to plan an exciting lineup of events. The month runs from Sept. 15 until Oct. 15 and is an opportunity to celebrate the rich culture and diverse backgrounds of Hispanic-identifying people.

Renzo Lara, Ed.D, the new director of the Latin@ Center, wants all students to feel welcomed. He credits his success to the many mentors who kept him on the right path and sees his current role as an opportunity to help mentor CSUSM students in academics and life.

"We use the 'familia’ model; Our programming really emphasizes community and values self-care and social change," Lara says.

Everyone is invited to participate in Hispanic Heritage Month events.

Mujeres in Leadership
Wednesday, Sept. 19, 2:30-3:30 p.m., USU 3200
Stop by the Gender Equity Center as we highlight three mujeres leaders. We will have conchas and coffee!

Latin@ Center Celebration
Thursday, Sept. 20, noon-1 p.m., USU 3300
Celebrating Hispanic Heritage Month: Learn about the traditional food and music of Latin America.

Lowrider Event
Saturday, Sept. 22, 3-9 p.m., Forum Plaza
Lowrider showcase with Latino Association of Faculty and Staff (LAFS) and University Police (UPD), film screening and educational event.

Attire of Latin America
Tuesday, Sept. 25, noon-1 p.m., USU 3300
Celebrate the tapestry of Latin American traditional attire with unique cultures, patterns and colors.

FAFSA Workshop
Thursday, Sept. 27, noon-1 p.m., USU 3300
Join us for a Q&A session with a CSUSM financial aid representative regarding the FAFSA/Dream applications.

Historias de F.U.E.R.Z.A.
Tuesday, Oct. 2, noon-1 p.m., USU 3300

Indigenous Population
Thursday, Oct. 4, noon-1 p.m., USU 3300
Being indigenous: What does it mean today, and why should it matter?

Chicanx/Latin@ Empowerment
Tuesday, Oct. 9, noon-1 p.m., USU 3300

Voting Rights - Tu Voz!
Wednesday, Oct. 10, noon-1 p.m., USU 3300

National Coming Out Day
Thursday, Oct. 11, 11:30 a.m.-1 p.m., USU 3100

Demystifying the F Word
Tuesday, Oct. 16, noon-1 p.m., USU 3300

Latin American Dances
Thursday, Oct. 18, noon-1 p.m., Forum Plaza

 

Media Contact

Andrew Reed, Digital Communications Specialist
areed@csusm.edu | Office: 760-750-7315